Who We Are

Board of Directors

  • Russ Berlin

    Musical Director, Lee’s Summit Symphony Orchestra
    Retired music educator, Lee’s Summit R-7 Schools

  • Carol Comer

    Jazz vocalist, pianist, educator and journalist
    Co-founder, Women’s Jazz Festival (Kansas City)

  • Tom Fredrick

    Attorney, jazz journalist (JAM, Kansas City Star)
    Faculty, University of Kansas School of Business

  • Dianne Gregg

    Retired Senior Arts Partners Coordinator, Kansas City Young Audiences
    Co-founder, Women’s Jazz Festival (Kansas City)

  • Keith Kavanaugh

    Graphic designer, Web designer, BauWau Design
    Jazz drummer

  • Mike Metheny

    Trumpeter, recording artist, journalist and educator
    LSHS Class of 1967

  • Pat Metheny

    Grammy winning guitarist, bandleader and recording artist
    LSHS Class of 1972

  • David Sholemson

    Senior Vice President and Director of Management
    Ted Kurland Associates, Boston, MA

  • Paul Smith

    Jazz pianist and recording artist, Kansas City, MO
    Retired music educator, Raytown and Kearney (MO) Schools

  • Legal Counsel:

    Nancy Blackwell

    Chinnery Evans & Nail
    Lee’s Summit, MO

Board of Advisors

  • Tom Alexios

    Outreach Education Projects, Duke Ellington Legacy

  • Steve Arbo

    Deputy City Administrator, Lee’s Summit (ex-officio)

  • Roger Atkinson

    Former Editor, Jazz Ambassador Magazine, Kansas City, MO

  • Gary Burton

    Retired dean, Berklee College of Music, Boston, MA

  • Ted Kurland

    Ted Kurland Associates, Boston, MA

  • Jim Mair

    Saxophonist, educator, former Director, Kansas City Jazz Orchestra

  • Marilyn Maye

    Vocalist, bandleader, recording artist

  • Ida McBeth

    Vocalist, bandleader, recording artist

  • Gary Sivils

    School band instrument sales, bandleader, cornetist

  • Doug Tatum

    Former Executive Director, Folly Theater, Kansas City, MO

  • Bobby Watson

    Saxophonist & director of Jazz Studies, University of Missouri/Kansas City

  • Mike White

    Attorney, saxophonist, former Jackson County (MO) Executive